Berryz and C-ute, H!P, Morning Musume, Musings, Random, S/mileage

In Which Isilie Memes


It’s terrible, but at the moment I am working on posts for my other blog, which are taking up a lot of my limited head space. That means that Itsumo Genki is a tad slow right now. Neglected.

I don’t like it. So here is an awesome TakaLin gif (made by someone who isn’t me) and a MEME!!

I haven’t done something like this before, but I thought it would be interesting to answer this sort of survey that has been floating around the ‘wotasphere’ lately. Here are links to the original posters of this meme (I am calling it a meme), Chiima and Momoka. Mara also answered these and you should definitely read that too (because she pwns). Mine is a bit rant-y, but I did my best (went a little gif-happy too, for some reason).

Here we go!

01. If your favourite member were to leave a group, you would abandon that group.

Well she left about four(?) years ago…and…yeah. Still here.
So no. Not if I liked the group.
Next!

02. Your favourite member/group is obviously the best member/group to exist and without them, the group/project would fail.

Nope. Yossy clearly IS the best…but that Mobekimasu thing happened just a little while ago and everybody said they loved it – so…I guess Yossy leaving didn’t ruin H!P afterall.

Yossy = powerful, but benevolent.

Look, it’s easy to be dramatic and think that without your special girl, the group she grew up in will fail, but it’s silly and self-indulgent. Don’t underestimate the other girls.

If the departure of Goto Maki, the “most talented girl to ever grace Tsunku’s recording booth” or Nacchi “the face of Momusu” or even Miss Nutjob Koharu, the one everybody suddenly inexplicably loved once she decided to leave (more on that later), didn’t destroy Momusu, then I think it’s safe to say that it will keep going. Same for the other groups.

Let’s not be stupid here, ok? They push the ones that will sell, even if the other girls are more talented. Hence, there is almost always back up.
You might be sad, but the group is probably fine.

03. The new members (Gen 9/10 MM & Gen 2 S/mileage) are too new to handle the loss of so many senpai (Aichan, Gaki, and Yuuka) so soon after joining.

Like I said, don’t underestimate the girls. They will step up because they have to.

I know a lot of the greats have or are going to leave (my favourite in Momusu right now is Mame and her time is almost gone >_<), but these new girls aren’t all so tragic that they can’t improve if given the chance. I think we’re all just reeling because there have been so many changes in what seems like such a short time. They are probably coping fine – it’s us fans who are getting used to it.

04. Idols should be forever pure – They should not marry, or date, or even think about anyone other than their fans.

Oh boy. This again. This whole pureness = never looking at the opposite sex, just in-group member-rabu!!!!

This kind of reaction is common in the idol world and usually a bunch of crap. Do I agree with it – of course not. Its not remotely my business what these girls do in their limited spare time. But do I understand why it happens – yeah, and it’s unfortunately part of their job.

They need to seem pure. So, basically have whatever private life you want, just don’t get caught.
If you are caught, the sad truth is that there are a LOT of people who won’t forgive you. It’s not the same with male idols, of course, but then not much is. This double-standard exists everywhere, not just Japan. And it absolutely sucks.

One thing I’m sick of reading after a boyfriend “scandal” is any variation of “she deserves and should expect” abuse or hatred.
I don’t care what justification you have for a statement like that  – Shut UP!
No. Really. Don’t even bother explaining. Just be quiet.

I can see why that image of pureness is important and part of the job. And I find I appreciate it when idols acknowledge that, unreasonable as it may be, some fans are hurt by these “scandals”. But nobody deserves abuse and harassment simply because she should have hid it better.

I just hate that as beautiful as the idol dream is, it can destroy people. It’s near impossible to be selfless, but when you’re just a teenager?? Thing is, I don’t think it’s an exaggeration to say that idols are given great power and being careless with it can hurt people to an absurd extent. It’s crazy and it’s unfair, but it’s real.

I guess I can only reiterate: idols can do whatever they want, just don’t get caught. And if they do get caught, I won’t get angry, I’ll just hope that her other fans are forgiving.

05. H!P members should be allowed to date/marry so they can stay members forever.

Um…what?

As much as I love Yossy, Nacchi, Yuko-sama…Momusu is a legacy, not a permanent place. It’s where you grow and it gives you opportunities and memories and…yeah, I’m going to get sappy now. So I’ll just say, they shouldn’t be kicked out for those things, but Momusu should keep graduating and changing. That’s how we met all our favourites, isn’t it?

The Dream Momusu thing is kinda interesting though…They graduated ages ago and they are still singing those songs. I wonder what the requirement for joining them is exactly, or if it’s going to operate as the next Elder Club-? Who knows.

06. When a member graduated, suddenly, everyone loves them.


(What does this gif have to do with anything? – well, there’s never a bad time for a random wedgie attack)

Is this true? Oh good frack, YES!

I’ve said some pretty snarky things on this blog and the only one I’ve ever gotten downright abuse for is saying that Koharu can’t sing. Which baffles me TO THIS DAY. Granted, I didn’t say it in a nice, diplomatic way, but wow! Even now, someone will comment on this and say, “oh but don’t you see – she IS a good singer” and so on.
Here’s an idea: I don’t agree!!! You won’t convince me.

It’s true though – graduation makes you think about everything the member has accomplished (or not) and everything she has brought to the group (like bucket loads o’ crack) and suddenly on come the rose-coloured glasses and she feels like your favourite member of all time. Suddenly it’s a tragedy and the group is doomed. It happens. It’s understandable.

It can be annoying, but what’s the harm? In some cases it’s the most attention they’ve ever received.

07. When a new member gets more lines than other new members, everyone either hates that member or loves them. (No in between)

Riho should really smile properly more often. It’s not the amount of lines with her, it’s the tight-lipped smirk.

It certainly seems so.
For some reason, it makes me a bit uncomfortable, even if I understand why it’s happening. Maybe it’s just we’re angry they are getting handed lines. We’d rather they work their way up and struggle!! FIGHT-O!

But if she’s good, why are we complaining?

08. The new Members of Morning Musume (or specific members) don’t look like they belong there.

This is really just “I don’t think so and so is cute enough”, right?


Only this one needs to gtfo.

And don’t look so shocked.

09. Morning Musume are a Sinking Ship.

(Thank you Airii~n Deshou for the awesome gif)

I would like to direct you to this article because it says it all better than I ever could.
Man I love their concerts so much…

10. Morning Musume are too childish, so naturally people won’t like them any more.

Are you just talking about Pyoko?
Momusu did the giant chickens, it’s true. But AKB did the giant veggies for that commercial.

Obviously only chickens are for kids…

I know, I know. AKB can get away with anything, right?

Really this is all about what you mean by ‘childish’. And that’s hardly the reason people don’t like them anymore.

Momusu always tries new things. They will be back shortly with another ‘cool’ single that you can complain about because it’s not genki enough and sounds like something they’ve already done. Don’t worry.

11. S/mileage has become more mature than Morning Musume as of 2012.

Maturity as of 2012 everybody. Take note.

This is about Pyoko again, isn’t it?
Man that single gets more hate than Mikan! No, S/mileage is not more mature, they just had the better A-side.

12. S/mileage ARE the new Morning Musume.

Short answer: NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

Longer answer: Really. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

Coherent answer: I see lots of way in which they are similar or at least they are presented as similar. But no. They may become comparable to Momusu, but they need about ten years of hard work first.

13. C-ute is only still “cute” because they owe it to their group name.

This is why we haven’t gotten another Tokkaiko Junjou in awhile, right? Personally, I don’t care if the song is ‘cute’ as long as it’s a good song (and the dance is awesome).

14. Berryz and C-ute might disband soon.

(Thank you BOOM! Berryz Koubou for the gif)

Actually I’ve been wondering about this. I don’t know why I’m wondering now, but I’ve thought about it. What is Tsunku going to do with them once their teens are over? Will they just disband or pass on the torch to entirely new members? That would be exciting, unprecedented and make everyone completely furious…Or they could pull a Shin Mini Moni and just change the name slightly-?

15. Aika should graduate.

Miss Granny is another one of those Musume who I just don’t get. At first I had no idea why she was chosen, since the wasn’t the best singer, she didn’t seem particularly enthusiastic and, well…wasn’t conventionally pretty. She’s one of those girls who at the right angle can look so great and at the wrong can look really unfortunate. Then I thought she was cutest thing since kittens. Then she started to remind me of a granny (in a cute way). Then I started to wonder when she’d ever smile properly and drop that odd non-smile she seems fond of.

Here’s the thing: she hasn’t been able to dance for ages now. She could barely stand for awhile there. Seeing her in a wheel chair at Takahashi’s grad made me pretty emotional. Is she ever going to be able to dance again? The sad fact is, if she can’t do that, then she has to graduate to get herself better. I think once she’s done that she’d be awesome in a group for an anime. She really shined in Guardians 4.

Another thing that gets me about her is that I’ve noticed how much she seems uncomfortable with new members. Ever since Koharu’s grad, I’ve heard her say variations of how the new members made her feel insecure and she had to apologize for being jealous of them. Apparently no one had any interest in talking to her when she first joined (anybody know if that is factual or just something she felt was true?). Group changes will keep on happening and if she hasn’t found a way to deal with that after five years, then when will she?

It seems like this time around she’s really trying to guide her kouhai, even if it means being stern. They have a tour coming up. If she still can’t dance at the end of that, I think it might be time to throw in the towel.

16. The fans are the real problem behind Morning Musume’s problems.

I’ve read two schools of thought on this: the wota are creepy and keep other people away or that everyone accepts anything the group does and therefore are encouraging the release of the same ol’ crap over and over.

But then, without the unconditional support of a lot of fans, where would they be? If the fans support anything, then the only thing stopping any real change is the management. Also I’ve read a lot of concert reports that say there were not only girls, but whole families enjoying themselves, not just *insert wota stereotype here*. Of course I don’t have personal experience to back this up, so I guess I can’t really say much else.

What problems exactly? Sales? Let’s not do the sales thing again, please.

17. Sayashi Riho and Tamura Meimi are only in H!P because they previously performed in Stage Plays with H!P members/groups.

I know one of those two and she’s good. So if that is the “real” reason, I really don’t care. It’s about time they started using people they already know are talented if all the good, honest, regular girls don’t measure up.

18. Tanaka Reina needs to graduate.

I’ve been saying this for years. I am well aware that she is one of the most popular members and one of the best vocalists (or THE best, if you love squirrel). But I am not a fan. I didn’t even notice her in the group until Yossy was gone and suddenly she was getting every other frakkin’ line. I would see her and go, “Oh, wait, who is that one – and why does she keep winking-?”

I can put up with some squeaky girls for a couple of singles if it means Winky just moves the hell on already.

19. A-sides are better than B-sides, or else the B-side would be the A-side.

…What? Well, that’s just silly,

Look, I’ll answer or respond to these, but I’m not having things getting silly…

20. Berryz Koubou shouldn’t be “Sexy” suddenly after being “childish” for so long.


(Boom Berryz Koubou is awesome!!)

They can pull off either one. Seriously.
And nobody is more surprised about that than me.

In the idol game, versatility is your friend.

21. IT’S ALL TSUNKU’S FAULT!

Well, of course it is. You can tell me that it isn’t all you want, but scapegoats are too fun. Besides, blaming Tsunku is a well-formed habit for lazy bloggers like me.

*awaits the flames*
(I’d credit the gif if I knew who made it)

What do you guys think about these questions/statements? I must say, these kinds of arguments are what make me scared of forums, even though I really want to meet more people I can chat about H!P with.

Remember to check out Boom Berryz Koubou. I got pretty much all my gifs from there…Thank you!! XD

~Isilie

10 thoughts on “In Which Isilie Memes”

  1. That’s a survey? Seems more like a set of outrageous statements that you rationally shoot down.

    I agree with you about the forums. I used to post pretty often on places like H!O, but then I gradually started to feel it really wasn’t worth my time anymore…

    1. Well, as far as it being a ‘survey’, I wasn’t sure exactly what to call it. Ray at INtWota called it a ‘meme’ so I used that (and since I suck with titles). Yeah, I’ve been in forums for other interests and half the time I was defending myself when there was absolutely no need to. Too many people were too tiresome, too often. >_< The thing is, it would be nice to have people to chat with about this stuff. So I guess one day I'll just have to bite the bullet-?

  2. I’m Cat from Aitakatta btw 🙂

    I agree so much about your comments on Aika (and Koharu can’t sing at all btw, she’s pretty, cute, quirky, fun, whatever but NEVER a good singer. Come at me bro) and it offended me that some of her fans were all like “Oh, I don’t care what is the reason, she just has to stay in the group” and I thought they can’t be serious.

    If you really care for an idol and she’s seriously injured so much that she’s even wheel chair bound and can’t even perform with the group wouldn’t you want her to retire so that she could focus on her health and on getting better instead of freaking out that she might ~leave your precious idol group and leave you devastated~. I mean I know what it’s like to love one of these girls a lot, but that’s selfish and awful. Gross.

    And about the Sinking Ship thing, I just want to add my 2 cents that I’ve never understood why are H!P fans so obsessed with sales numbers and charting and their ~former glory~. I mean, we all know they are not what they used to be popularity wise in Japan, why should we care? As long as a musician is making songs that I like and keep me coming back for more I couldn’t care less if they sell a million in a day or 1000 total. Freaking out about those details doesn’t do any good to anyone, they seem to have a stable fanbase that will support them enough so that they can keep doing music, why isn’t this enough for the fans? You’d think they have stocks in UFA since they are overanalizing the market everytime a new single drops. Geez.

    1. Hey Cat! 😀 Yeah, sales aren’t really a concern for me. People point out that without good sales they wouldn’t be here, blahblahblah, but like you said, if they are doing well enough that they are still around-? Calm down!! And THANK YOU! I swear I will never understand the ‘Koharu-is-an-awesome-singer’ thing. She is NOT (they come at you, I’ll stand behind you as back up!)! I hope Aika will stay, but I’d rather she recover properly than rush back in! You’d think her fans would have a little bit more compassion, eh?

  3. I actually started to dislike koharu when she graduated. and I agree she needed a truck load of singing lessons

    And I like MMS Conservative image. Its not that their not sexy. Because they are (cough *onetwothree* cough)
    Its that they are sexy while being conservative. MM doesn’t need to make a video where they all dress up in lingere and kiss each other because their company has more respect for them and they don’t need to attract the amount of revenue AKB48 needs to bleed out of the viewers to pay the million lipsyncers they hired needlessly.

    I like MMs conservativeness because I’m a girl and when you are a girl liking girl groups sexiness puts you off because I am damn well not watching their videos for sex appeal.

    S/mileage have a really low popularity compared to MM. Their aint no way their the new MM

    As Gaki stated on some show during renai hunter promos, in the old days the younger gens kinda stayed quiet and didn’t interact with their senpais. That could be the stem from where aika being ignored came from.it seems 9th and 10th gens changed that because they are completely unreserved with their senpais (Sato, Ikuta, Suzuki)

  4. If you were a real Momusu fan you would’ve known that every member works their butt off to get lines! Why would you hate Reina because she gets the most lines? She worked hard for it and deserves it. Just like Riho, she got a lot of lines too even thought she’s still kinda new. But of course people won’t hate her. So why would you hate only Reina? (And I don’t hate Riho, I just took her as an example.)

    1. It’s not cause of the lines, it’s cause I don’t enjoy her performance(s) pretty much 80% of the time. I acknowledge that they all work hard though. Didn’t mean to imply otherwise.

Leave a Reply

